North Sydney’s Independent is a community group of people on Sydney’s North Shore who actively engage in our democracy.

Our aim is to ensure the views and interests of our community are represented at all levels of Government – Local, State, and Federal.

North Sydney’s Independent (NSI) started the community movement which then found independent MP Kylea Tink – and launched and resourced her initial campaign.

NSI is currently focused on the NSW State Election which is taking place on 25 March, 2023. The State electorates within the North Sydney electorate are Lane Cove, North Shore, and Willoughby.

If you’d like to get involved in our campaign for the NSW State election please get in touch and also subscribe to our weekly newsletter to stay up to date with our plans and progress.

You can also share your views with us by filling in our short community survey here.

Like to join others in our community by directly supporting our campaign? Please let us know how here.

Get in touch

Inspired by community independents like our Warringah neighbours’ Zali Steggall, and the Voices for Indi group’s Cathy McGowan & Helen Haines, we set out to find our own representative who would follow in their spirit of transparency, accountability, and open democracy.

We found Kylea Tink – a representative who will drive climate action, a healthy economy, and push for an independent federal commission against corruption. A representative who will speak, and importantly vote, for the voices of our community.

North Sydney has a proud history of having independent candidates representing us. Ted Mack, often referred to as the “father of independents”, is the only person to have been elected as an independent to local, state, and federal government. Ted Mack believed his role was to represent his community’s voices – not his own nor a party’s. Kylea Tink MP will continue this tradition.

Our community’s current priorities

Climate and Economy

Climate and Economy

Government Integrity, Transparency, and Accountability.

Government Integrity, Transparency, and Accountability.

Suburbs in the North Sydney electorate

Lane Cove State Electorate: Artarmon, Chatswood West, East Ryde, Gladesville, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Cove, Huntleys Point, Lane Cove, Lane Cove North, Lane Cove West, Linley Point, Longueville, Macquarie Park, North Ryde, Northwood, Putney, Riverview, Ryde, St Leonards, Tennyson Point, Woolwich.

North Shore State Electorate: Mosman, Balmoral, Beauty Point, Cremorne, Neutral Bay, Kirribilli, North Sydney, Waverton, Wollstonecraft and parts of Crows Nest. The electorate includes Taronga Park Zoo.

Willoughby State Electorate: Willoughby, Middle Cove, Castlecrag, Northbridge, Naremburn, Chatswood West, Lane Cove North and parts of Artarmon, Cammeray, Crows Nest, Cremorne.

Together in the 2022 federal election we turned North Sydney independent again.